Creating a new job from a master job file

Applies to: All programs


Many users create master job files for the different types of jobs they encounter. For example sports photographers may wish to have a master job file for each of the different sports they photograph whereas school photographers may have separate master job files for elementary schools, high schools and seniors.

Version 4 SQL jobs with the central tsAdministrator utility has reduced the need for master job files since many of the parameters may be set by a master job file may be set in tsAdmin

The idea behind setting up a master job file is the that user prepares the job file as far as desired then saves it as a master. When starting a new job the user simply opens the appropriate master job file. This approach saves repetitive tasks and having to "setup" the job file each time. With this in mind, below is a list of some of the tasks that can be defined in a master job file.

  1. Define the set of fields to be used
  2. Enter values into these fields (notably file and folder fields)
  3. Import graphics such as logos or backgrounds into these fields
  4. Setup a field mapping for importing a text file
  5. Select the appropriate folder of templates
  6. Setup a field mapping for importing a text file for building a print queue
  7. Define specific aspect ratio guides and head size guides
  8. Set the number of images to view as desired
  9. Manually create folders
  10. Sort the print queue

Until recently the disadvantage of master job files was that is was easy for a user to accidentally save over the master. This problem has been eliminated with the "File>New from..." feature. With this feature the user starts a new job file by selecting New from File... from the File menu.

Figure 1: Starting a new job from an existing job

A window appears allowing the user to open any previously saved job file, however the job file is opened as an untitled job.

Figure 2: Selecting the master job file

Once the master job file has been opened the user may continue to work with it in the normal way. Since the job file is untitled, saving it with either the File>Save or File>Save as... command will prompt the user for a file name. In this way the master file can never be accidentally saved over. If the master needs to be altered the user opens the master job file with the File>Open command and makes the alterations before re-saving.

End of article


Recent Discussions

18 Oct, 2018 10:18 AM
03 Oct, 2018 07:08 PM
02 Oct, 2018 04:56 AM
11 Sep, 2018 10:52 PM
04 Sep, 2018 03:16 PM